Residents of California who wish to pursue a career in real estate sales must obtain a license in the country before they could work with clients to purchase or sell property. As of 2010, the Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that the number of real estate agents and brokers will increase by around 14 percent between 2008 and 2018. You can be part of the business 's growth by visiting California's Department of Real Estate to begin the licensing procedure.
Meet Legal Age Requirement
The state of California has an age condition aspiring real estate agents must fulfill before they could take the written real estate exam. All individuals who plan on applying for a license to become a real estate agent in the state of California must be at least 18 years old.
Proof of Residency
Real estate license applicants must be legal residents of the United States, but not necessarily residents of the state of California. Applicants that are residents of another country are required to fill out an out-of-state program. California's Department of Real Estate site says that out-of-state applicants cannot obtain a waiver excusing them from the licensing conditions.
Pass Background Review
Applicants must disclose any criminal convictions or pending criminal cases when applying for a license. It'so essential that applicants provide accurate facts in their pasts, or they may be denied a license. Every candidate 's criminal convictions will be assessed on a person-by-person foundation.
Obtain Education and Coaching
Submit transcripts that signify that you satisfactorily completed coursework in real estate principles, real estate practice and another real estate related class such as business law, property management or real estate appraisal. For a full listing of approved coursework, visit the California Department of Real Estate's website (see Resources). If you’re licensed to practice law in California, or another state, or have a J.D. Or LL.B degree, you may have the ability to waive these course requirements.
Submit Fee and Application
If you’re old, fulfill the residency requirements and also have the essential education requirements, submit an application to become a sales agent in California. Applications are available online in California's Department of Real Estate website. As of 2010, applicants may file for their test and license in the exact same period and pay a charge of $305, or applicants can but pay $60 to their own test.
Applicants that are at least 18 years old, together with the essential education requirements, can apply to take the written real estate examination. Applicants that pass the test and the background inspection have one year to apply for their real estate license in the state of California.